Default Views on various sd 9mm calibers

hi... dont know if this as been asked before...

wats your take on using 9mm short(9x17) or 9x18 or 9x23 as a sd caliber...

or...

is 9x19 the "lowest" caliber to "depend on" ito sd?

maybe if you guys could give a rating of them from 1-10.

thanks

User

Default Re: Views on various sd 9mm calibers

I can't comment on the 9x18 or 9x23 as I have no experience with them.

The 9mm short tends to have a problem with poor penetration. This is particularly evident with JHP ammo. Often multiple hits are required. Sure, the 9mmS is still deadly, its just not as reliable as some of the other calibres. As the 9mmS is usually found in the smaller "pocket pistols" with 6/7 round capacity this can be a problem, especially with multiple attackers. The answer would seem to be a high capacity 9mmS such as the CZ83 but if you are looking for a carry gun you can find a compact 9mmP of similar size.

User

Default Re: Views on various sd 9mm calibers

9x17 and 9x18 are considered either the very bottom edge of acceptable or just below by most. Either IMHO should only be loaded with ball for SD but i would far prefer something better. I would also pick a .38 Spl over either of these personally.

9x23 has very impressive ballistics but ammo availability will be problematic. It is also pretty much a 1911 calibre and once again IMHO the 1911 is best matched in .45 ACP

User

From what I understand the 9x18 and standard load .38 Spl have very similar ballistics.

Quote Originally Posted by Analyst View Post
    From what I understand the 9x18 and standard load .38 Spl have very similar ballistics.
    Depends on what you call 'similar' as well as barrel length. A 'standard' 158gr RNL or SWC lead bullet will clock around 750FPS from a nominal 2in barrel and uses both a heavier bullet as well as one slightly more effective (lead). But when we look at .38Spl +P performance, things change radically.