Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default Which AR15 to Buy

Hi Guys

Im sure this topic has been discussed alot but i never really see responses with detail other then the poster just saying which Make he prefers

Can ppl with experience please assist me with this answer as i am new to the semi-auto rifle world

I know you get the Norinco and its cheap-Value for Money R12,900

There is the NEA-Heard great reviews but hate the look-R19500

Astra-+ R18500, know nothing about???

Then the Schmeiser, up of R26,000

Is the Schmeiser worth the extra money- Please can someone help shed some light, i really want to go buy the Schmeiser now but want help justifying the extra cost

What else should i consider as Availability is also killing me

Thanks as always fellow Gunsiters

John

User

Default Re: Which AR15 to Buy

what do you find unappealing about the NEA?
    im guessing the bland slab rail? when you think about it.... it makes it lighter and easier to grip.

User

You also get an STI purpose built for sport-similar pricing to nea iirc.should be looked at if 3 gun is an intended use.mrst bring them in

User

Oh my...just had a look at the Schmeisser...what a beautiful weapon...but the quality of the NEA is also top notch and the difference between that and the Schmeisser can buy you the mother of all trijicons...

That said, if money was not a factor I would go for the Schmeisser any time

Not a fan of piston ARs...I would get the NEA in 5.56 and a T-1 / H-1 and never look back...but that's just me
    Run Fast, Bite Hard!

Get any AR you can put your paws on, while you can! AR has a modular design, so you should be able to upgrade most of the parts, if necessary, unless you buy something really exotic.

I have an Astra STG4, I read all sort of nonsense about it, but so far it has 4,000 rounds down-range and it just goes on! It is a mechanical device, so as long as you maintain it, it will serve you well.

Thanks for the response all