Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: About time?

Default About time?

Been around for some time now, nj but somehow never got around to doing this bit, idf24 ... but Nutjob's posting got me thinking and I guess “it’s time to do the right thing”! ;D

I’m a psychologist in Pretoria specializing in clinical hypnotherapy for pretty much anything, as long as it’s over the age of about 14 or so – anything younger than that is REALLY scary! I also have an interest in natural medicines and homoeopathy (Does this need to go into the “Fair Disclosure” section?)

In preparation for “revenge of the barbarian hordes”, I bought my first gun in ‘94 (yes Sheila, it was “Another Dreadful Pistol” …. but I did buy a Glock later! tup). Of course I never actually needed to shoot it fighting0035 because them pesky hordes never pitched up for some inexplicable reason confused0083. It also goes without saying that I never actually needed to practise with my gun because “I was in the army!” fighting0002

Joined PDPC 3 days before the deadline for renewal in March 2007 after doing my competency there. Participated in my first shoot 3 days later because I had been advised by an SAP patient that being “an active club member” fighting0002 significantly improved your chances of getting your license. grn1

The SO on my first shoot was Deon Booysen, who is now in Aussie. His patience, forbearance and steely nerve (and that of the rest of the detail), in the face of what I now realise was an utterly clueless and thoroughly dangerous cowboy confused0068, was awesome! Instead of repeatedly DQ’ing me and chasing me away to the sound of derisive laughter, I was patiently taken aside after each stage by someone on the detail and instructed on just exactly what I had done wrong! lv29 lv29 lv29 lv29 lv29 lv29 lv29 lv29

Like many others, I discovered GunSite by accident. The wealth of knowledge on the site, is mind boggling, as is the willingness to freely share this experience with others! kissass