Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Default Norinco AK Type 56 or Norinco CQA

Hi guys,

I have searched and searched on the forum and some of my questions have not really been answered by older threads.

Since there is a good special going on the Norinco Type 56s it has piqued my curiosity and at the price they can be had is reasonably affordable at this point in time before my first born is here later this year. Then I am not sure how the finances will work or look :-).

At current the AK is going for just under R6K. I phoned a few gunshops today and the average price of the CQA is around R12000 and they are only getting them in 2months time.

What I want is a semi-automatic rifle for 3gun. I have never done 3gun before. I know a few people that shoot with ARs and LM4/5s but I have not seen them in a while to direct certain questions their way. I also want a rifle to finally join the guys at Sports Adventure Shooting :-)

1) Licencing: I know that one could licence an AR but what about an AK? I have dedicated status but read on a different thread of a few years ago that the CFR is full of when it comes to AKs. What kind of motivation can be looked at from a S16 point of view for an AK.
    2) Does SAPSA endorse AKs?
    3) Ammo availability. I am getting conflicting reports from people(their sources:unknown) that AK ammo is scarce and not as freely available as 5.56x45. This concerns me because what is a gun if you can't feed it? Still a gun, but a sad one ;-).
    4) What is the actual current price difference between the two? Buying Norinco or Barnual ammo VS ammo that you can reload? Where can these be bought as my Google-fu yielded few results and some of the sites do not display prices.
    4b) What are the reloading costs involved between the two? I know that .223REM(I am varying it ;-)) is much cheaper, but how much cheaper?
    5) How freely available are the reloading components? Brass? Bullets?