Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default 6mm musgrave and .303

i am a student in dire need of a hunting rifle so i think i should get a .303 and later on when i get a .375 rebarel the .303 to a 6mm musgrave. Wat do jou guys think? Wat is jour opion on the 303 and 6mm an do jou have any experiance with them? I think the 303 should be a exelent bushveld caliber and the 6mm should be a ok 300m springbuk,blesbuk... rifel

Behind you, breaking out the KY... Or JHB

Default Re: 6mm musgrave and .303

Hoesit pietskiet.

I have/had/shot both of these and both are nice rifles. Again, it depends what you want to do, but in short: IMHO, the.303 is legendary in itself and with the right bullets, can almost do what any self-respecting .308 can do.

However... the .303 & the 6mm Musgrave both use the same type of action called (fcukknowswot??). This translates to: yes, you probably can try to shoot good 300m shots with the 6mm M, but you cannot reload the 6mm M to shoot good 300m shots expecting much case life. The 6mm M/.303 used an action that locks up different from most other actions and this allows the action a minute amount of movement during firing. Eventually, specifically with hot loads, head seperation becomes a problem. I have not experienced this myself, but have read/heard several incidents relating to both the .303 and 6mm M.

Secondly, comparing the inherent accuracy of the .303/6mm M action and a 'normal' action will favor the 'normal', simply because the actions differ in how they lock up. Other actions lock up more securely while the .303/6mm M lock up with a bit of leeway; these guns/actions were designed for wars, not sharpshooting or head shots at 300m.