Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Enduro riding.

User

Default Enduro riding.

Any Enduro racers/riders here. I'm thinking of getting myself a nice off road bike and getting into Enduro riding. Any advice as I'm a complete noob to things like this, rode a YZ125 many years ago in my early teens.Was thinking of getting myself a WR250 or something similar in that category. I suspect the YZ450 might be a bit much for me now as I ned to get usd to two wheels again.

User

Default Re: Enduro riding.

I'm also new to the enduro sport, so cannot give sound advice.

Maybe check out http://www.wilddog.za.net/, I based my purchases on their advice.

There's allot of info on the site and the guys are very helpful. Plus their for sale section has got a massive amount bikes for sale of all types.

User

Default Enduro riding.

Wr250f is a great starting point for a beginner, you won't go wrong.

Motor is a little tamer and torque curve wider than the mx 250s and the suspension a lot plusher, not ideal for hitting 60ft doubles but awesome for enduro. Electric start is awesome to especially after you have stalled and flooded it for the 47th time in a bog hole and you are stuffed (school fees!) The down side is a little more weight but that's ok.

A 450 is too much for a complete novice (not sure how much bike experience you have) as generally they will be scared of it, and I would be loathe to suggest an mx 250 2t as the power band can be brutal, which is really cool though once you are experienced!

You need to get a lot of time under your belt before you will be good enough to know what your riding style is and what bike will suit that, so start with the wr and decide from there if you are a big 450 bruiser or like a screaming 2 smoker, they all ride differently and are better suited to different riding styles.

I have always been a 250 4 stroke rider but my next bike with be a 250 or 300 2 stroke.