Thread: Shotgun Drills

User

Default Shotgun Drills

Good morning all

I am handing in my shotgun license app tomorrow (hopefully), and this got me thinking about shotgun drills.

Since I'm a complete noob with shotguns, there might be some basic questions.

Can a shotgun be dry-fired at home? I'm guessing that like with any firearm you would like to get the hang of the trigger and sighting.

What live-fire drills are there? Do you set up target and engage from different distances/on the move?

What kind of equipment is necessary? You can only hit cardboard targets so many times before they disintegrate.

User

Default Re: Shotgun Drills

Im sure the trainers on here will chip in soon but get some snap capps so you can dry fire safely.

Then practice lots of reloading, shotguns need to continuously be fed!

Good luck with the application.

BigT does a great shotty course.
    Israeli Carry is for dead people

User

Quote Originally Posted by carleng View Post
    Good morning all

I am handing in my shotgun license app tomorrow (hopefully), and this got me thinking about shotgun drills.

Since I'm a complete noob with shotguns, there might be some basic questions.

Can a shotgun be dry-fired at home? I'm guessing that like with any firearm you would like to get the hang of the trigger and sighting.

What live-fire drills are there? Do you set up target and engage from different distances/on the move?

What kind of equipment is necessary? You can only hit cardboard targets so many times before they disintegrate.
    Info needed:

Is it Semi or Pump?
    What sport are you practicing for?

Plate racks are the best to practice on although not many ranges have them. Next is hanging plates. After that its steel plates that you have to pick up. Bottom line is steel targets of some variety.

Ill comment once you have answered the quesitons

User

Quote Originally Posted by LukeS View Post