Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default Suggestions for a 2nd hand (or new) 12ga O/U?

Howdy!

Currently I own a 12ga Browning BPS pump action shotgun. I have been using it for pigeon shooting for the past 8 years or so, but pieces of the receiver has broken of - due to the recoil of all that shooting, I suppose. (See attached photo).

Now, I'm looking for an over&under shotgun to replace it with. The shotgun is still working, but the barrel is also a real shortie. So, it seems like a good excuse...

Any suggestions? I thought of something secondhand in the region of R5,000-R10,000.

What barrel length should I be considering? I was thinking 28"...?

Ejectors or non-ejectors? What chokes are suitable for hunting?

Could a new shotgun be bought for that price?

I'm really at a loss - some advice please!

Default Re: Suggestions for a 2nd hand (or new) 12ga O/U?

hi musgrave..

Let me begin by saying that i am far from an expert when it comes to shotguns, but can offer some advise based on my own experiance. I am a collector of firearms and wanted to buy a nice o/u to add to my collection, well well well.

I was wanting something along the lines of a Beretta, Winchester or Browning, thinking that Parazzi and Purdi were way waaaay out of my reach, well, let me tell you that on further investigation it dawned on me quickly that so are the Beretta, Winchesters and Brownings, new that is. so forget the new shotguns, those in the price range you are looking at are mediocre at best and will not offer a long round count, so lets talk second hand...