Page 1 of 152 1 2 3 11 51 101 ... LastLast
    User

Default Meanwhile back in Finland...

As we all know, the spring is bringing the northern hemisphere back to life after long, cold darkness of the winter. The weather has been very nice for some time in the southern Finland, snow all long gone, winter tires changed to summer ones, birds are migrating back for the summer and temperatures are rising just like the ever better spirit of the Finns waiting for the soothing warmth of the summertime.

But then just before the festivities of the May Day, the weather started to change for the worst...

This weekend I was an assistant instructor to ex military, ex SWAT Monte Gould from IMTT LLC and Chris White, retired member of SEAL team six on SEAL Advanced Carbine course. Very fast phased, information and action packed weekend for the more advanced shooters and professionals, the clients were professional instructors, active reservists and active Finnish Defense Forces personnel.

Last week Mr. White stepped out of an airplane at Helsinki International airport wearing his spring attire, T-shirt and shorts, no flip-flops though...and the temperature was just above freezing... The day one began temperature in about +10(ish) C, sun shining, no wind, but at noon there were lots of cloud buildup and stormy gusts of wind followed by...a blizzard with temperature dropping way below freezing. Big spruce trees were falling by the strength of the wind, the snow rendered optics almost unusable, but then again there was a segment of learning how to shoot with your primary sight disabled. Lucky us, we got the reality dialed up to the max

This is when it still was kind of calm...

...but then it kept snowing until in the next morning there was over 10 cm of snow everywhere. Adv Carbine course changed into Winter War simulation :)