Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Hunting dog puppy training - Book recommendations and advice

I may have a Small Münsterländer pup heading my way in May. The initial intention was to go to hunting dog puppy school, but with Corona all such things have been suspended.

I'm going to have to go at it alone for time being.

I have ZERO experience with this. So I to have to rely on solid literature recommendations, and advice from knowledgeable people.

I would like to train the pup for bird retrieval, and for tracking wounded game.

Any advice would be appreciated.

User

Default Re: Hunting dog puppy training - Book recommendations and advice

If memory serves, in the 80's, Paddy Lindop wrote a series of articles in Magnum, called The art of shooting flying, which included a lot of good advice on how to train a retriever. I do not use it any more, I just train from memory, but those articles form the bases for all my gundog training.

I do not hunt Labradors, just GSP's, and the advice also holds true to training HPR breeds, taking this training and getting my 1st GSP dog onto blood spoor took 3 training sessions when he was about 20 months old, my rationale was thar if we could come back 2 hours later and give him a good starting point on a wounded guinea fowl, that would sometimes take him up to 20 minutes before he tracked down and retrieved the runner, a wounded game animal would be easy. And I was right, he took to it like a duck to water.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Tapatalk

User

Quote Originally Posted by johannvdg View Post
    If memory serves, in the 80's, Paddy Lindop wrote a series of articles in Magnum, called The art of shooting flying, which included a lot of good advice on how to train a retriever. I do not use it any more, I just train from memory, but those articles form the bases for all my gundog training.